Museum logo

Archive Record

  • Email This Page
  • Send Feedback
Accession number 2000.20
Catalog Number 2000.20.1
Object Name Documents
Scope & Content 10 pg. document of Treaty between Seminoles and U.S. government, preamble by Andrew Johnson, has eleven articles and was witnessed by John Chup-Co, Cho-Cote-Harjo, Fos-Harjo, and John Brown.

Treaty was concluded March 21, 1866, Ratification Advised July 19, 1866, Proclaimed August 16, 1866. Signed in print by President Andrew Johnson and Secretary of State William H. Seward. Being a treaty concluded between "Dennis N. Cooley, Elijah Sells, and Col. Ely S. Parker, Commissioners, on the part of the United States, and John Chup-co, Cho-cote-harjo, Fos-harjo, and John F. Brown, Chiefs and Delegates of the Seminole Indians" The preamble says in part: "Whereas existing treaties between the United States and the Seminole nation are insufficient...and whereas the Seminole nation made a treaty with the so-called Confederate States, August 1st, 1861, whereby they threw off their allegiance to the United States and incurred the liability of forfeiture of all lands other property...and whereas a treaty of peace and amity was entered Fort Smith, September 10, 1865, whereby the Seminoles revoked, cancelled, and repudiated the said treaty with the so-called Confederate States; and whereas the United States, in view of said treaty of the Seminole nation with the enemies of the government...and in view of its urgent necessities for more lands in the Indian territory, requires a cession by said Seminole nation of a part of its present reservation, and is willing to pay therefore a reasonable price, while at the same time providing new and adequate lands for them..." There are ten articles in the treaty: Article 2 prohibits slavery in the Seminole nation.
Title Treaty Between the United States of America and the Seminole Nation of Indians
Date 1866
Catalog date 2005-05-24
Condition Good
Imagefile 006\2000201.JPG